Executive Leadership 

Jennifer Pollitt Hill, MSW

Executive Director

Jenn joined HopeWorks as Executive Director in February of 2012. Her career has been devoted to addressing violence against women with a particular focus on sexual assault. Formerly she held the position of Executive Director for the Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault and has also worked at the Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence. Prior to joining HopeWorks, Jenn was employed by the District of Columbia Office of Victim Services as a Senior Grants Manager with oversight of the District’s Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner program as well as grants associated with the Violence Against Women Act and the Victims of Crime Act. She holds a Master of Social Work degree from the University of Pennsylvania School of Social Policy and Practice and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Social Psychology from Mary Baldwin College.

Vanita Leatherwood, M.A., TLA

Deputy Director

Vanita Leatherwood is the Deputy Director at HopeWorks of Howard County. She joined the agency in 2011, as the Director of Community Engagement, bringing with her over 30 years of experience in program development and administration, facilitation, communications, marketing and development. Ms. Leatherwood’s career has focused primarily in the nonprofit arena including the fields of mental health, social disparities, education and violence prevention.  In 2018, she was awarded a Governor’s Citation in honor of her positive contributions to the state of Maryland and our nation. Ms. Leatherwood is a Transformative Language Arts Educator and Poetry Therapist. Her volunteer experience includes: nonprofit Board membership, tutoring in adult-literacy, facilitating wellness workshops, and mentoring youth. She holds a M.A. in Community Psychology and is a graduate of the 2013 Leadership Howard County Premier Class.

Management Team 

HopeWorks’ management team consists of the directors of each agency department as well as the executive leadership team. Our department directors include:

Lynda King
Advocacy Department

Sylvie Henry
Legal Department

Daniela McDonald
Residential Department

Lisa Sloyer
Clinical Department

Samantha Samuel-Nakka
Anti-Trafficking Department

Board of Directors 

The Board of Directors for HopeWorks is charged with the responsibility of providing overall governance, strategic direction and financial stability for the organization. Our current BOD Roster includes:

Maureen Evans Arthurs
Director of Government Affairs and Strategic Partnerships
Office of the County Executive

Gabriella Colarusso, Secretary
Marketing Communication Specialist
Navy Mutual Aid Association

Bonnie Cronin, Vice President
HR Specialist
Harkins Builders, Inc.

Renee DeBoard-Lucas
Licensed Clinical Psychologist

Suzanne Geckle
Community Advocate

Julian Greene, Treasurer
Adjunct Professor
Howard Community College

Marla Harrison
Vice President, Branch Manager
Sandy Spring Bank

Arielle Karp 
Sales Manager Biotech
Precision Antibody

Renee Mankoff
Associate Broker, Operations Manager The North Star Team
Long and Foster Real Estate

Shaneka McClarty, President
CEO/ Psychotherapist
TG Counseling & Consulting

Amanda Pizzurro
Talent Manager and Human Resource Business Partner
Fund for Johns Hopkins Medicine

Montrell L. Scaife
Attorney-Sole Proprietor
Office of Montrell Scaife

Margaret Weinstein
Department of Surgical Pathology
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

Marcia J. White
Office Manager 
Rebuilding Together Howard County

24-Hour Sexual, Dating and Domestic Violence Helpline: (410) 997-2272



9770 Patuxent Woods Dr., Suite 300

Columbia, MD, 21046

(410) 997-0304